O.K. look, here’s the deal


Well, at the request of my good friend, Lisa, I have decided to start blogging again. There, are you happy now Lisa?

Does anyone else out there use a calorie counting food diary on the web? Do you ever input a meal and then go back and adjust the amounts of what you ate so it looks like you ate less than you actually did? Just wondering.

Sample:

What I Ate Amount Calories
100% whole wheat bread 2 slices 180
Mayo 1 T. 90
Eggplant ½ cup 20
Tomato ½ sliced 12.5
Lettuce ¼ c. 5
Kettle chips 1 oz. 150
Lemonade 2 cups 262
Total Lunch Calories 719.5 
What I Ate – Revised Amount Calories
100% whole wheat bread 2 slices 180
Mayo 2 tsp. 59
Eggplant ½ cup 20
Tomato ½ sliced 12.5
Lettuce ¼ c. 5
Kettle chips 2/3 oz. 112
Lemonade 1 cups 131
Total Revised Calories 520.5

Wow! That’s a lot better! See what I mean? (Do you see how I did that? I changed the mayo, chips and lemonade amounts and voila! I shaved 200 calories off my lunch.)

So o.k., now I’ve confessed something. Do you wanna cop to it too? Or maybe there’s something else you’d like to share? How about you Lisa? Let’s start with you!


About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in my relationship with food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O.K. look, here’s the deal

  1. I confess… I adjust too! lol

    • Leila says:

      Sometimes I wonder what it would cost to have a nutritionist come and stay with me for a week, and watch me prepare everything I make and do the numbers for me. And then I think, with the observation, I would probably fail to be accurate to my daily life. LOL.

Leave a Reply

