Love Is The Answer


You might have noticed by now (all 15 of you), that I tend to avoid the bother of capitalization. I’m a stickler for grammar and punctuation when I write e-mails, letters or anything formal. Texting has taught me to abbreviate everything. B4 I lernd to txt, I hated c-ing peepl do tht! But hey, this is my blog, so I’ve given myself permission to do whatever I want. And I always loved e.e. cummings. He never felt the need to punctuate or capitalize!

[i carry your heart with me(i carry it in]

BY  e.e. cummings

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing,my darling)

i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

 

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

 

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)

Isn’t that beautiful.

In any case, there’s a reason I capitalized this blog title, which is, I am quoting a song. and the song I am quoting is capitalized. The song I am quoting was written by Todd Rundgren. I wanted to give a big shout out today to Todd and his wonderful music.

“I’ve looked high and low, I’ve been from shore to shore to shore, if there’s a shortcut I’d have found it, but there’s no easy way around it.

Light of the world, shine on me, love is the answer. Shine on us all, set us free, love is the answer.

Who knows why, someday we all must die. We’re all homeless boys and girls. And we are never heard, it’s such a lonely, lonely, lonely world. People turn their heads and walk on by. Tell me, is it worth just another try.

Light of the world, shine on me, love is the answer.”

I’ve been thinking about those lyrics lately. “And we are never heard.” Don’t we all feel that way sometimes? I know there are times I don’t feel heard, especially by those who are closest to me. And I bet they feel the same way. I know that I am almost constantly surrounded by people, mostly people I like. Often, people I love. And yet I still feel lonely and unheard. I feel that there is no way to really convey how I feel. Strange that I would spend time typing these words on a blog. If I can’t reach the people nearest and dearest to me, why do I try to connect with nameless, faceless strangers? This song seems to express some of my darkest feelings, and yet, there it is. That beautiful, lifting sense of hope. Light of the world, shine on me. Love is the answer. Click the link below for a real treat, a live, a cappella version of the song, sung by none other than the wonderful, the sublime, the superlative. Todd. Rundgren.

Enjoy!

 

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

