nevermind.


Well, now I feel like a total doofus. Did anybody read Monday’s to-do list? This is when having only two people read your blog is a really good thing. Only two people to be a doofus in front of. What a relief. So, ok. Look. Here’s the deal. It’s time to cop. Here’s the list and what I did with it:

  • Get up on time, which happens to be the ungodly (in my opinion) hour of 7:30 a.m. – check!
  • Make oatmeal and pack my daughter’s lunch. – check!
  • Walk her to the bus, complaining about how she didn’t do her chores yesterday and so now I’m super bummed. – check!
  • Teach a yoga class (avoid spending the entire time complaining about my life to what is, essentially, a captive audience). – check!
  • Go to my son’s high school and supervise the study lounge until 1 pm. While I’m there, I’ll surf craigslist looking for a new couch, read and respond to email, return a phone call from my daughter’s P.E. teacher, write this blog and do some algebra.- check! 
  • Drop off books at the library. – check!
  • Stop off at the rental house and collect my tools.
  • Stop off at the pharmacy and pick up a prescription.
  • Go home and do a couple of math lessons with my son (hence the algebra). – check!
  • Do three loads of laundry.
  • Get my den ready for our friend Essiet’s arrival tomorrow (which involves putting away all my crap, moving my clothes out of the room so I can get dressed every day and so he has room for his clothes in the closet, setting up the bed, putting on some linens and getting out the guest towels).
  • Try to organize and clean the living room (which is truly a disaster).
  • Make dinner (sausages and ravioli, I think. with bread, and a salad, of course)
  • Oh yeah, stop at the store for bread (no time to bake today).
  • Do as much other stuff as I can make myself do after dinner, before I collapse in a quivering heap of freak-out at the end of the day.
Two things to notice. First, I ditched the errands. Still haven’t done them, and it’s Wednesday evening. Second. Notice that math lessons with Joey are the last thing I checked! 
Because ….

I mostly reverted to Monday’s first list, the one where I take some mind-altering … and crawl under the sheets and refuse to get up. Except that first, Joey balked at helping me clean up the house. Then,  I had a great big tirade/hissy fit. Told Joey we should ALL do WHATEVER THE HELL WE WANT TO DO! LET’S ALL DO WHATEVER WE WANT FROM NOW ON, YEAH, THAT WOULD BE GREAT!

Then, I left. Well, probably I shouted some more first, I don’t really remember. Then, I went to the Spare Room and drank four Manhattans and chatted with the guys hanging out there at 2 in the afternoon as a habit. We watched the Texas/Detroit game and talked about baseball. Then, I went home, yelled at my husband (who hadn’t really done anything wrong), shoved a bunch of clothes into a backpack, and took off again. Then I went to the Kennedy School and ordered a burger, beer and tater tots (my second helping of tots that day). But hey, if tots can’t make you feel better, what can?

After that, I went to the rental house, which is still for sale, and I took a bath, put on my p.j.s and climbed into the big brass bed we used to stage the master bedroom. Then I fell asleep (passed out), at 6:30 p.m.

At 8p.m. I talked to Lisa and she said, “good for you!” Thank you Lisa!

At 8:30p.m. my husband called and said I should take some time and spend the night if it would help, and come home in the morning, when we WOULD work it out.

At 9:30p.m. I went home and we worked it out. (He gave the kids a good, stern talking to!)

My mom wants to know why people want to go onto the computer and share stuff with everybody in the world. I don’t know. Especially since this is me sharing me being super childish. Oh well.

Hey world, guess what? Sometimes I’m super childish.

Then again, last night, I got the whole living room cleaned up and lots of furniture moved and stuff put away. And everyone in the family helped me.

And today, Joey and I did two more math lessons.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in me being silly, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

