O.K. Look, I’ve had about enough already.


This post is in response to a cover story on msn.com under news called, “Syrian Dissidents Tell of Abuse,” that takes you to the website for Brian Williams’ new show called “Rock Center.” The title of the article, written by Richard Engel is:

Inside Syria: Dissidents tell stories of ‘unbelievable abuse’ against protesters

Wherein, he describes sneaking in to Syria over the Turkish border and spending a few days in Syria staying at a brothel and meeting a few “dissidents,” one of whom. . . “told truly horrific stories of rape and abuse.  She had not witnessed the atrocities personally(boldface is mine), but had seen video evidence online.” Well, there you have it, irrefutable proof in the form of unsubstantiated hearsay.

So, look, here’s the deal, people:

Bashar Al Asad is not a tyrant. Syria has seen more freedom of expression and economic freedom in the last ten years than ever before. The US political position on Syria is totally false and I question our government’s motives in promoting the Muslim Brotherhood as a better alternative to any of the governments they have overthrown. The political restrictions in Syria were to prevent the Muslim Brotherhood from taking over, but of course, the CIA has been interfering and overtly promoting a protest movement while covertly supporting a violent overthrow.

Someone needs to explain to me what a government’s response should be to armed insurgents killing people in the streets. Should a government step down when a minority of its citizens demand its overthrow? How about if the government has given the people physical safety and security, a good education (including free college), affordable medical care, increasing economic opportunity, equal rights for women and absolute freedom of religion, all while protecting the country’s minorities and promoting a unity of the people that (until now), transcended religious affiliation or ethnic status? How about if the government knows, (as do we all), that if the Muslim Brotherhood is successful in taking over the country, the people will lose their physical safety and security, the women will lose most of their rights, including the right to choose what clothes they are wearing, and whether or not they go out in public alone? ALL the people will be subject to a fundamentalist Islamic government, except of course, the Christians, who will either flee or be slaughtered. Which brings us to the United States government. In what way is it in our best interest, or Israel’s best interest, to help bring a fundamentalist religious group into power all over the Middle East?

In case you’re wondering what my sources are, they are ME. I have stayed in Syria in 2001, 2007, and 2010 and seen the progress and growth in the country. I have spoken to many people over the years, Sunni, Alawites, Christians, Armenians. I know people from Latakia, Homs, Damascus, Aleppo. I have spoken PERSONALLY to over two hundred Syrians, both here in the United States (all of whom have family in Syria), and to friends and family in Syria right now. WITHOUT EXCEPTION, they call this an attempt by the Muslim Brotherhood to overthrow the government, and WITHOUT EXCEPTION, they support the current government and the president, Bashar Al Asad.

This article refers to the crackdown on the internet in Syria, yet I listen to radio stations all over Syria on the internet and get news EVERY DAY from multiple groups on Facebook, both government run and sites run by citizens. And the one question I hear overwhelmingly from friends and family in Syria is, “why is the US press and government spreading lies about what’s going on in our country?”

So let me be perfectly clear: the VAST MAJORITY of the citizens of Syria support the present government and favor them crushing this attempt to bring the government down. The VAST MAJORITY DO NOT want the Muslim Brotherhood to take over the country, nor do they want a fundamentalist Islamic government, and the VAST MAJORITY want the United States and all other foreign governments to stop supporting the insurgents and stay out of the their business.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in enough already, I don't understand, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O.K. Look, I’ve had about enough already.

  1. goblinbox says:

    Thanks for this. I shall now spread it all over the innertubes.

Leave a Reply

