I’m sorry, WHAT?


  • Vini:  “Hey, you’re snoring!”
  • Me:  “I am?”
  • V:  “Yeah.”
  • M: “Real loud, or quietly?”
  • V:  “Real loud.”
  • M: “Like how loud? Snore for me like I was snoring.”
  • V:   “Zzzzzzzz.” (disclaimer: not the sound of real snoring).
  • M: “That’s not loud!”
Seriously. It wasn’t loud at all! Not even 5 out of 10 on the  “My husband, Vini’s, snoring volume” scale.

I’m currently sick. Blah. Erin knows. She read my last post. (Shout out to Erin – woot woot!).  So, APPARENTLY, last night (surely because I am ill), I was gently snoring. Delicately. Snoring with grace. Like the whisper of a light breeze.

The thing is. MY HUSBAND SNORES. Did I mention that? I believe I said something to my husband last night along the lines of, “yeah, sixteen years, honey. It sucks, don’t it.” The thing is. My husband gets MAD at me when I wake him up in the middle of the night and say, “Honey, turn over. You’re snoring.”

So he woke me up maybe three more times. One time he said something like, (more like shouted!), “Hey, you’re laying on your back! You’re not supposed to lay on your back!” Then close to the morning he said, and I quote, “Thanks A LOT. I got practically NO SLEEP AT ALL last night. I hope you’re happy.”

Then I said: “Yes. Yes I am happy! Hah! Take that! After sixteen years of listening to you snore night after night. After sixteen years of waking you up OVER and OVER again, telling you to turn over and stop snoring. After sixteen years of laying there, wide awake half the time, listening to you snore. Again. And again. And again. And finally, FINALLY. ONE NIGHT. I finally get sick, and keep you up all night with my snoring. OF COURSE I’M HAPPY!”

Alright, fine. That’s not what I said. I believe what I said was, “Sorry honey, I’ll sleep on the couch until I’m over my cold.”

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in marriage, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m sorry, WHAT?

  1. Leila says:

    And I have. Two nights and counting.

Leave a Reply

