The race to the top – what’s it all about?


Look 1%, here’s the deal: the success of the 99% doesn’t demand that the rich turn their mansions into hippie communes and sell all their yachts and jewelry to feed the hungry and clothe the poor. (Actually, I believe it’s Jesus who suggested that). We’re only trying to say, “hey guys, stop crushing us beneath your feet in your effort to climb higher than the billionaire on the ladder next to you.” Because for the ultra rich, that really is what it’s all about. “Nya, nya, nya, nya, nya, my yacht’s bigger than your yacht.” or “I spent more money on my lavish, destination birthday party than you did!”

An example:

“…tycoon Steve Schwarzman, chairman and CEO of the Blackstone Group, an investment firm, celebrated his 60th birthday in February 2007 at the luxurious Park Avenue Armory in New York City, where famed event planner Philip Baloun designed a 50-foot silkscreen re-creation of Schwarzman’s Park Avenue Apartment.

Five to six hundred of Schwarzman’s closest friends, including Colin Powell and Donald Trump, enjoyed entertainment put on by marching bands and military cadets, Yale singers as well as the Abyssinian Baptist choir. Pattie LaBelle, Rod Stewart, Marvin Hamlisch and Martin Short attended the bash, which was estimated to have cost between $3 and $15 million.”

Source: http://www.beau-coup.com/expensive-extravagant-birthday-parties.htm

A joke from Essiet:

This man in a limo pulls up next to a guy in another limo at a stoplight. Their windows are open and the first guy yells: “Hey, you got a telephone in there?” The second guy says, “Yes, of course I do.” “I got one too… see?” “Uh, huh, yes, that’s very nice.” Then the first man says, “You got a fax machine?” “Why, actually, yes, I do.” “I do too! See? It’s right here!” “Uh-huh.” The light is just about to turn green and the second guy says, “So, do YOU have a double bed in back there?” And the first guy says, “NO! Do you?” “Yep, got my double bed right in back here — see?!” The light turns and the first guy takes off. Well, he’s not about to be one-upped, so he goes immediately to a customizing shop and orders them to put a double bed in back of his car. About two weeks later, the job is finally done and he picks up his car and drives all over town looking for the other guy. He finally finds him parked alongside the road so he pulls up next to him. The windows are all fogged up and he feels a little awkward about it, but he gets out of his newly modified limo and taps on the foggy window of the other car. The man finally opens the window a crack and peeks out. The first guy says, “Hey. Remember me?” “Yeah, yeah, I remember you. What’s up?” “Check this out — I got a double bed installed in my limo.” And the other guy says, “YOU GOT ME OUT OF THE SHOWER TO TELL ME THAT?!”

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in enough already, I don't understand, politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

