You should all be ashamed of yourselves!


So there it was in the paper today. In the Oregonian, from the New York Times News Service, and I quote: “Military defectors and armed insurgents have carried out attacks on government installations since the start of the uprising eight months ago…”

What? Insurgents have carried out attacks SINCE THE START OF THE UPRISING? Since the beginning of the insurgency in Syria, Al Jazeera, and the U.S. and British press have insisted, INSISTED, that the Syrian army has been firing on “innocent protesters.”  And from the beginning, the Syrian government has insisted that there have been armed “insurgents” firing weapons during these “protests.” The Syrian government said (“claimed” as our press likes to put it), that there were real student protests in which Syrian citizens, mostly students, were asking for democratic freedoms and economic reforms.  But after the government agreed to draft reforms, there were new “protests,” in which insurgents would be in a crowd of “protesters.” They would fire weapons and when the army or police showed up, there were other “protesters” who would videotape the police using force against the “innocent protesters.”

Nonsense, claimed our government, and leaders around the world. Nonsense, cried the press. And yet, here it is today. Time to change the story. And act as if this has been the story all along. “ARMED INSURGENTS HAVE CARRIED OUT ATTACKS . . . SINCE THE START OF THE UPRISING EIGHT MONTHS AGO.”

“Syrian state television described a different scene at the Omari mosque, showing guns, grenades, ammunition and money that it SAID had been taken from the mosque after a police raid.” – NYT, March 23, 2011

“The government of Syria claims it is interested in dialogue at the same time that it is attacking and massing forces in Hama, where demonstrations have been NOTHING BUT PEACEFUL,”  – Al Jazeera, July 6, 2001 (quoting Victoria Nuland from the US State Dept.)

“Bashar al-Assad, the Syrian president, blames foreign elements and ARMED GROUPS for being behind the uprising, but Syrian opposition groups deny the claim.” – Al Jazeera, September 23, 2011

“Military troops opened fire during protests in the southern part of Syria on Friday and killed PEACEFUL DEMONSTRATORS. . .The government had initially INSISTED that the protests and deaths were the work of criminals brought across the border from Jordan.” – New York Times, March 25, 2011

So what’s behind this new narrative? Will we now pretend that we’ve been reporting an ARMED UPRISING from the beginning? Are we now being told that the Syrian people intended to overthrow their government from the start? I’d like to say that I have some amazing insight into the motives and plans of the US government and the media which has relentless pursued the removal of Bashar Al Asad from power. I would like to say that I can explain to everyone why our government is rejecting secular leaders in the Middle East in favor of the Muslim Brotherhood.  I’d like to say that I understand why we’ve taken this particular position in painting a false picture of what has been happening in Syria in the last eight months. But I can’t. It baffles me. But I can say this:

You should all be ashamed of yourselves.

Whatever our government’s motives, whatever the desires of the press, I am sickened by their actions. Despite what you’ve all heard, Syria has not been “severely repressed,” and this isn’t a “popular uprising.” This is a violent takeover of Syria by the Muslim Brotherhood. And if they succeed, the Christian minority will face severe persecution and all the Syrian people will be subject to Shari’a law and serious repression in all aspects of their lives. A beautiful, safe, secure country, where people have seen their standard of living rise in the past ten years, where people enjoy a great deal of personal freedom, will be destroyed. And for what?

You should all be ashamed of yourselves!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in enough already, I don't understand, politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

