Not to be lazy folks, but . . .


Hi Everyone, and by “everyone,” I actually mean “more than two people.” Yay!

I would first like to say, I hope you all had a chance to check out my posts about Syria. A terrible injustice is being done there, not by the Syrian government, but by the Muslim Brotherhood, in cahoots with the U.S., Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Turkey and I am trying DESPERATELY to bring the truth to light. A beautiful country, and millions of people are at stake. So if you haven’t had a chance yet, please take a moment or two to check out “You should all be ashamed of yourselves!” and “Please watch this video!” They are my two previous posts.

Secondly, I would like to thank you for checking this out. I don’t really care who reads about my random rants regarding my husband’s snoring, or my goofy streams of consciousness, but the political stuff is important – to ALL of us. Agree or disagree, I welcome all rational, reasonably polite discourse. And speaking of, not to be lazy but, below I’ve copied an excerpt of a conversation I’m having with a wonderfully thoughtful fellow named Alan.

This is my response to his response to my response to something Ben Hoffman wrote on his blog, the Hoffman Post at http://drudgeretort.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/gop-the-stupid-party/. This is not the complete exchange, but an excerpt. You can go to Ben’s blog to see the conversation in its entirety (thus far). My comments are in blue. Alan’s are in quotations marks. My responses are edited to keep your eyes from glazing over with boredom.

“Leila,

You will have to forgive me, I am not used to conversing with rational people here. Give me a moment to collect my thoughts.”

Thanks Alan. It’s true, I am one of the approximately seventy-three people in the blogosphere in search of civilized discourse! And happy to have met you. I think we agree wholeheartedly (or almost). To whit:

“Perhaps they would, but living in Pennsylvania, what right do I or some faceless bureaucrat in Washington have to tell Texas how to run their schools ?”

Well . . .  we as a nation might feel that there should be certain standards in education. We may believe that all students in all states, for instance, should be given a thorough education about the constitution and should be required to read and discuss the Federalist Papers. Of course, people disagree about the balance of states rights vs federal power, but maybe, as we see the current relevance of this issue today, we might ALL agree that we’d like ALL our citizens to have a thorough understanding of the arguments and the ability to express an informed opinion about this issue. That’s just one example. I do however, STRONGLY disagree with the idea that teachers should be REQUIRED to teach in certain ways. Individual school districts and individual teachers should have standards to meet within the school year, but should be free to design curricula as they see fit. Also, bad teachers (or bad anything else) should be fired. And the unions should support this.

“In other words, why collect money at the federal level and then redistribute, why not decentralize (rallying cry of the right, I know), and let states collect taxes to fund education. I do see the argument in favor of policy at the federal level and of course, enforcing privacy and civil rights laws.”

I agree completely. I would go so far as to say that anytime money (taxes) is collected for any domestic programs, federal or otherwise, they should be collected at the state level. Why complicate things. I think that the only taxes the Federal government should collect should be applied to stuff ONLY the Fed can do, like pay the army, or the President or Congressmen or the Supreme Court. Maybe NASA. Stuff like that. Even things like the EPA don’t need to be funded at the federal level. Policy can be set at that level, but carried out and funded at the state level.

“Civil rights reminds me of safety as defined by OSHA . It is a huge tent by which our overlords and masters in Washington seek to write rules to micromanage our lives.”

We-e-e-e-e-ell . . . I guess it depends to which “civil rights” you refer. There are several civil rights that the Federal government has granted that probably wouldn’t have been adopted by all the states, but which I believe are truly “human rights,” and thus should be applied to all. However, it also seems clear to me that the government has gone overboard, especially in recent years. But that doesn’t argue against federal policy, it rather suggests that further consideration of policy is needed.

“Washington is where money goes to be directed elsewhere.”

Yes. Clearly. Sadly. Tragically, even. And generally, to the people who control policy: corporate CEOs, billionaires, defense contractors, agribusiness, energy and oil companies, the healthcare industry, the banking industry, insurance, multinational conglomerates, etc., etc. etc.

“It wants to grow it’s revenues, crush it’s competition for money and power, namely the private sector…”

I would only say here, that the largest of the large in the private sector seem to benefit the most from federal policy. They send their lobbyists to Washington to make sure that policy favors them. And pay to do it. The people we elect by voting are handed to us by the people who have bought and paid for them. And thus, “every election is” NOT “a board meeting and our chance to throw out our oppressors,” because our oppressors are the people buying the candidates. Throw em ALL out and elect ALL new people, total newbies, and they become part of a SYSTEM that is not so easily dismantled. And the people who created this system by manipulating laws through the decades are not so easily displaced.

If Alan is inclined to respond, I’ll post his responses. Thanks again for reading! Have a nice day.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

