Let’s go straight to the source, shall we?


I always say it’s best to go straight to the source for information. I hope that anyone who reads this blog will listen to this short video and form their own impression about the president of Syria. Please listen, and then, if you still have time, please consider my comments.

You may be tired of hearing me yammer on about Syria. Amazingly, an AT&T customer service representative asked me to spell Syria today (I was asking about long distance rates) and it was obvious that she’d never heard of it before. I despair. I truly do. For every person out there who swallows, hook, line and sinker, the propaganda being spread about Syria right now, I think there must be a thousand more who are completely unaware of its existence! How can we ever change anything really?

I hope that you have watched this video, and I hope that you all heard the President say that he is here to serve the country, the country is not here to serve him. I also hope that you noticed that he said he would remain president if it was good for the country, or leave for the good of the country as well. I have heard him speak many times in the past, and as now, I have always been impressed with his intelligence and obvious concern for his country. When citizens of Syria told me last summer how much they admire and respect him, it came as no surprise.

There’s been much talk in recent years of how U.S. foreign policy seems to benefit corporations and defense contractors, with no obvious benefits to the American people, (and billions of tax dollars gone). Not to mention, the unnecessary destruction of other countries and the deaths of tens of thousands (hundreds of thousands?) of their citizens. When are we going to demand that our government stop? We’ve utterly destroyed Iraq and Afghanistan, Egypt, and Libya. Now, we’re targeting Yemen and of course, Syria. Jordan is next. Our policy of late seems to center on the idea of removing secular leaders and replace them with Muslim extremists. How does this foreign policy benefit America? Please start asking the question. And let me know if you find an answer.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in enough already, I don't understand, politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

