everybody laughs at me


Everbody laughs at me just because I like to be organized.

I love my iCal. Especially now that it works properly. I have my brand new brother in law, Lito, to thank for that. Of course, like everybody else’s iCal, mine had double and even triple entries due to synching problems. (I sound like I know what I’m talking about, but I’m really just repeating what my new b.i.l. told me). Anyway, apparently, the “cloud” didn’t solve all those problems, but Lito did, because he is a delicate genius! So now my iCal works like a dream. And this is what today looked like:

  • 7:30 AM to 8:00 AM    wake up and eat   
  • 8:30 AM to 9:30 AM    clean living/dining room
  • 9:30 AM to 11:30 AM   strength and conditioning 
  • 11:30 AM to 12:00 PM shower
  • 12:00 PM to 1:00 PM   make dinner
  • 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM     lunch and nap
  • 2:30 PM to 5:30 PM     project time
  • 5:30 PM to 6:30 PM     tidy up/finish dinner
  • 6:30 PM to 7:30 PM     pasta
  • 7:30 PM to 8:00 PM    blog
  • 8:00 PM to 9:30 PM    hang out with kids
  • 9:30 PM to 11:00 PM   free time

Sometimes in my free time I keep hanging out with the kids. Other times I go to my den and watch a DVDed episode of Nova or National Geographic (New Girl or Grey’s Anatomy, who am I kidding). That “blog” spot is new, by the way. It’s my attempt to remember to blog every day. We’ll see. Anyway, my b.i.l. wanted to know why I have to write down “wake up and eat” in my calendar. “Won’t you do it anyway?” he asked. But I might not. And almost certainly not at 7:30am. So I write it down. Despite this awesome explanation, my sister and Lito both laughed at me. My son did too, just now, when I told him I was almost done with my “hang out with kids” time and ready for my “free time.”

Anyway, I guess it’s a comfort thing, being able to look at the calendar at any time of day and have it tell me exactly what I’m supposed to be doing. I think I’m afraid that if I don’t write it all out, I won’t get anything done. I might wander aimlessly through my day, and by the end of it, I won’t have made dinner, the laundry won’t be done, and all I WILL have accomplished is watching a six hour Law and Order marathon. So every night I look at the schedule for the next day. And every day, I check the calendar whenever I can’t remember what I’m supposed to do. And if I look at it, and don’t want to do it, then I make another choice, and at least I know what I’m skipping (mostly housework, rarely lunch and nap).

So laugh if you will, but it’s almost eleven p.m., so I’m going to bed.



About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in me being silly, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

