yeah, yeah, yeah.


O.K. Fine. So I didn’t even look at my calendar today. How come everything is so hard? I am sick, it’s true.

So instead of the first (wait, I’m looking at my calendar now) four things on my list, from 7:30 am to 11:30 am, I just slept. Yeah, it’s always easy to trade ANYTHING on my calendar for sleep. See, I’m not as obsessive-compulsive as I sounded on Tuesday. (Also, I’m not the total whack job that I sounded like yesterday. Just sayin’).

Of course, all the sleeping totally screwed up the whole day, so that instead of taking a shower and making dinner between 11:30 am and 1 pm, I walked to New Seasons instead (super sunny day!) and bought chicken for dinner. And agave nectar for my husband (who AMAZINGLY, is trying to avoid “white food,” you know, sugar, white flour, pasta, etc.), and Kool Aid for my kids (the “add sugar to taste” kind). I know, it’s still just powdered garbage, but I don’t want to hear it. They’re 16 and almost 13 and this is the first time EVER that I bought Kool Aid for them, so lay off already. Oh, and a case of wine. (I said, lay off already! Sheesh!) I did stick to the schedule to the extent that it is “chicken” day. That is to say, chicken for dinner. And I was sneaky too, because I decided to make chicken colorado and use it for tacos, so I was able to buy ONE boneless, skinless chicken breast for all four of us, and effectively limit our total meat intake to under 4 ounces each. SCORE!

Then, after I got home, I made a totally unauthorized batch of bread dough – whole wheat sourdough (the French kind). But since I was discombobulated (I love that word!), I added WAY TOO MUCH SALT. And so I had to keep adding flour and water until it wasn’t too salty, and so I ended up, ultimately, with FOUR baguettes and one boule. So that actually paid off quite nicely! I also repaired my daughter’s sweater, rolled out an  oriental rug in my den and picked up dust bunnies on the floor (with my hands – head hung in shame), did two loads of laundry, made three important phone calls AND watched Grey’s Anatomy with Lesley and Erin. (Yay! Lesley and Erin!). It’s the first time we’ve been together since pre-Christmas and it SEEMED LIKE FOREVER!!!!!!!!!

So, all in all, quite an unorganized day. But not entirely unproductive. Still, as I sit here, slightly freaking out that I won’t be able to hit “publish” before midnight with seven minutes to go, and thus screw up the post-a-blog-every-day plan that is only three days old, I look back sadly at “7:30-8:00 pm – Blog” and wish that I’d had at least enough self-discipline to jump into my calendar at some point. And yet, alas, I did not.  I even missed “11 pm – Go to bed,” so I am in fact, totally screwed.

Oh well, tomorrow is another day!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in me being silly, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

