Why do all the good shows go kaput?


Why DO all the good shows go kaput? I say this as I sit here watching Firefly, a show that went kaput so quickly, that I didn’t even find out about it until it was already off the air.

And then I rented it from the library and watched the entire series in three nights. Ah, three magical nights, cuddled up with Maddy and Joey back when the coolest thing they could imagine doing was staying up late to watch TV with me! Ah, those were the days.

The same thing happened with the new BSG (that’s BattleStar Galactica for you total losers out there. You know who you are). It was in its final frakkin season before I found out about it!

Is it something about the inherent intelligence of a well-thought out sci-fi series versus the inherent stupidity of TV itself? Is that it? Is it like how on Star Trek (the original), the matter and anti-matter universes would explode if they touched? Is that it? Is it like that?

You know, I really don’t give a frak what it is. Gimme my Firefly! Where the hell is Falling Skies? I want my BSG!

I want my, I want my, I want my BSG…
I want my, I want my, I want my BSG…

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in I don't understand, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

