a perfect day in oregon


It’s a perfect day here in Oregon. Perfect for a January day in Oregon. It’s cloudy, but the sun breaks through occasionally. There’s a light drizzle. Yes, I know, drizzle. But the thing is, with the diffuse light, and the soft rain, everything glows. The ferns are all damp. The raindrops cling to them until finally, they fall, sliding off each frond slowly, delicately. The air feels soft. Soft and wet and clingy. It’s not too cold, but it’s not warm either. I’m warm from walking, and my warmth radiates out and meets the cold air. I think that if the sun comes up, steam will almost certainly rise off of my body. I marvel at the plants here in the winter in the Pacific Northwest. We’re so blessed with the bounty of it.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

