I’m going to blog about baking today


Warning: Viewer discretion is advised. The content you are about to read contains graphic description of food. If you are of the opinion that you do NOT want to hear about or see the food that anyone else has cooked, baked, eaten or plans to eat, do NOT proceed to read this post. (I have heard it said that some people – people I clearly don’t know and don’t like – do not think that people should post pictures or descriptions of food they ate, wished they were eating or are going to eat later, up to and including food they are preparing for said consumption). Fine. Everyone, no matter how wrong, is entitled to their opinion. As for me, I can’t think of anything I’d rather do than read about and see what wonderful food is being prepared and eaten out there. Or in here. Are you with me? If so, please proceed, and enjoy today’s post.

I’m going to blog about baking today because I went a little crazy in the kitchen. What started out as a perfectly innocent, little idea turned into something of a baking extravaganza!

I want to discuss the baking, but first, I feel compelled to at least mention in passing the cooking. You see, Vini has a cold. (Poor Vini). He almost NEVER gets sick, and I always feel bad when he does, because he just keeps on getting up and going to work, day after day, until the cold passes. Not like some people I know (me), who lay around in bed, or in front of the TV, day after day, moaning and swilling NyQuil and asking the kids to bring cup-o-noodles and cups of tea all day long.

Anyway, Vini is sick, so I wanted to make a particularly soothing and nourishing supper for him. So I pulled the turkey broth out of the freezer, sautéed up some onion, celery and carrot, boiled some barley and put it all together with some frozen peas and corn. O.K. that’s not such a big deal. BUT, I served it with a fresh, crusty loaf of whole wheat French sourdough baguette and a spinach salad tossed with goat cheese, oranges and almonds. Seriously. Soothing AND nourishing. Not to put too fine a point on it, but I ROCK!

O.K., that’s enough self-aggrandizement for one day. On to the baking.

Here’s what happened. I needed to make bread. That baguette was the last of the last batch of bread. And it wasn’t gonna make it through dinner. Maddy needs a sandwich for lunch tomorrow. Which requires bread. And I always eat bread at breakfast. So. I decided to make milk bread, and as I always do, I doubled the recipe. One loaf. Eight dinner rolls. Two apple strudels. Not bad for one batch of dough.

Now, most people would have stopped there. That’s a lot of baking, and apple strudel is certainly sweet. But I wanted to make a cake. I don’t know why. I just thought “cake.” Then, I thought, “coconut cake.” So that’s what I made. Of course, once the cake came out, I had to slice off the top of the cake that domes up. So now I have scraps. Tomorrow, I can make chocolate pudding with chocolate almond milk (it’s seriously yummy), and make a trifle with the cake scraps and some Oregon strawberries I froze last summer. Yay! Somebody (me) better hit the gym hard this week. (Totally worth it!).

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in my relationship with food, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

