baking – part deux


I blogged about my bread baking extravaganza on Monday, because the baking ended up taking up my entire day, and so I had nothing else to blog about. I didn’t call it “baking – part un” because I didn’t know there would be a “baking – part deux,” and in fact, there doesn’t need to be, since I did all sorts of things today besides bake. On the other hand, what I did bake today was totally bitchin’, so it seems worth mentioning.

You may recall, (assuming you read Monday’s post) that along with all the bread items I baked, I also made a coconut cake. Well, you know. When the cake comes out of the oven, there’s that dome on top where the unruly, exuberant cake rises and denies me a perfectly flat surface for frosting. So, I do what Martha does. I slice it off. Now, I have a dome, all by itself, but unlike the muffin top, which is the clearly preferred part of the muffin, the dome is something of a sad little fellow. Of course, I could always just hide it from everyone else, and then sneak into the kitchen in the middle of the night and scarf it down with a cold glass of chocolate milk, standing over the sink in my pajamas.

But instead of doing that, I decided to make a “bonus dessert.” I like to think of myself as the queen of “bonus desserts.” If you’re unfamiliar with the concept, allow me to enlighten you. I guarantee you’ll dig it! A “bonus dessert” is what you get when you make one thing and then turn part of it into a dessert! Isn’t that awesome? You start out making ONE thing, and when you’re done, you end up with that one thing, AND a dessert (or in this case, ANOTHER dessert)! What could possibly be better than that? (besides multiple orgasms).

An example, besides today’s dessert, is the apple strudel I made on Monday. It wasn’t really strudel dough, it came from the bread dough I made for the loaf of sandwich bread and the dinner rolls. I just rolled it out and stretched it REALLY, REALLY thin, then filled it with apples and almonds and sugar and cinnamon and rolled it up and baked it! And voila! “Bonus dessert!”

So here was today’s bonus dessert, courtesy of the sad little dome from the coconut cake. I cut the dome up into three strips which I used to line the bottom of a casserole dish.  Then I made some chocolate pudding, which was TOTALLY bomb! I used chocolate almond milk, some left over coconut cream, half and half, nutella and bittersweet chocolate chips. I set the bag of chips on the stove while I was mixing the cornstarch with the chocolate milk, and the chips started to melt, so I had to add ALL the chips in the bag. And so the pudding was AMAZING. Then, I poured the pudding over the cake strips, took the rest of the cake dome and cut it into chunks and set them on top of the pudding, and then put fresh, frozen Oregon strawberries (the last bag in the freezer, how lucky is that?) on top of the pudding, covered it and set it in the fridge to chill.

Here’s a picture:

Now, here’s a picture of the piece I’m going to eat right now:

Bonus dessert – what could possibly be better than that?!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

