so ironically…,


So, ironically, I had just decided to keep trying to blog every day, and then, yesterday, I didn’t. Why not? Well… because I drank too much (two glasses of wine with dinner – I know, pathetic, right?) and got all sleepy watching a movie and didn’t have the energy to blog when it was over. And so now, completely inadvertently, I’m kinda off the hook.

And yet, here I am again today. Friday’s post was great, because it hooked me up with a couple of other bloggers with great blogs – The Better Man Project and Nonna’s Neuropoetry. What a blessing it is to reach out into the world and open yourself up to new people.

Well, just thought I’d put that out there before I descend into the bowels of hell. When I say, “bowels of hell,” what I mean is, the basement. The basement, where my two lovely, adorable children, light of my life and the meaning of my existence, SCREAM at each other at the top of their lungs. Punctuating every sentence with a loud “FUCK.”

It’s been a tough day in the Piazza Compound. Disharmony reigns. Brought on by Mom and Dad refusing to say “yes” to ever request (or demand). Ugh. I just get so weary sometimes. And by weary, I mean, would it really be so bad to just go downstairs and say (yell), “FINE, DO WHATEVER YOU WANT TO DO. GO TO YOUR FRIENDS. SPEND THE NIGHT. DON’T SPEND ANY TIME IN YOUR CLEARLY HORRIBLE HOUSE WITH YOUR CLEARLY HORRIBLE PARENTS. GO ON, GET OUT. SEE IF I CARE,” and then when they’re gone, pour myself a stiff drink, roll a big, fat, huge doooooooooobie, and tuck myself in on my comfy couch and settle in for a night of “Downton Abbey?” Really, would that be so bad?

Oh crap, here comes one of them now.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in enough already, family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

