thank you for bein’ a friend


Just a quick shout out to Lesley and Erin, two of my dear friends and a comment on the nature of friendship. I’ve been having a lot of conversations with my 13-year-old daughter about the nature of true friendships vs acquaintances,  a subject that has a lot of relevance to a 13-year-old, but also one we can all relate to now and again.

I just spent a lovely evening with Erin and Lesley, discussing various and sundry, and watching another gripping episode of Grey’s Anatomy. And drinking wine. And eating chocolate food. And now that they have gone, and I have sat down at my blog, I made the connection between our evening together and my conversations with my daughter.

Friendship is…

saying something and then immediately saying, “oh my God, did I just say that out loud? That sounded horrible.” And knowing that your friends can relate, don’t judge you, and maybe even agree.

knowing that later on, after they’ve left, you won’t obsess about whether or not they’re secretly appalled by anything you said, and in fact, they’re not.

laughing at yourself when you’re with them, and laughing at them too.

crying when you’re upset and not feeling the need to apologize. And being glad that your friend feels like they can be upset and share that with you.

crying when something tragic happens on Grey’s Anatomy, and having one of your friends laugh and say, “pull yourself together woman!” as she hands you a kleenex.

So thank you, Lesley and Erin, for a perfectly lovely evening! I’m so grateful that you are in my life.

 

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in friends, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

