the oregon garden is lovely in january


The Oregon Garden is lovely in January. Most especially when viewed with a very dear friend! My very dear friend, Lisa, and I went to Silverton yesterday to spend some time alone together. Between her 3-year-old, Gracie, and my two teens (yikes!), her new awesome job, and all my usual housewifely work, it’s gotten really hard for us to spend time together regularly. And so…Living Social to the rescue! (If you EVER get a chance to get a deal like this, don’t you dare pass it up!)

We arrived in time for lunch, and had a delicious meal at a cute, little place in cute, little downtown Silverton. On our way back to the resort, we stopped off at the Gordon House, the ONLY Frank Lloyd Wright designed home in all of Oregon. How awesome for us is it that it was on the grounds of the Oregon Garden!? And how awesome is it that one friend would say to the other, “ooh, there’s a Frank Lloyd Wright house right here in Silverton, do you want to see it?” and the other would answer, “OMG, I saw that on the web yesterday and I was hoping you’d want to go!” Such sympatico.

After we toured the house, we went to our beautiful, WARM (!) room and lay on our big, fluffy beds (!), with our big, fluffy pillows (!), and read our novels (hers: Wench: A Novel by Dolen Perkins-Valdez, mine: Highland Bride by Hannah Howell). Then we both took a nap (!). Then, we went to the main lodge for our SPA APPOINTMENTS!!!!!!!!! I had an amazing massage (thank you Jeremy), and Lisa had an amazing facial. Ah, living in the lap of luxury.

We had reservations in the restaurant for dinner, but we ended up eating in the lounge instead. We sat in front of a roaring fire, on comfy couches. The bartender, Sami, our host extraordinaire, treated us with such warm hospitality. He’s Lebanese-Italian, can’t beat either for warmth or friendliness! We had a perfect, perfect evening. Everything we were served was delicious. We ate our food, drank our wine and talked and talked and talked.

This morning, we ate breakfast in the lodge and then spent two and a half hours strolling through the Oregon Garden, and we talked and talked and talked. It was truly a perfect girlfriend getaway! So don’t let the weather stop you. Grab a pal, rent a room and settle in for a wonderful time!

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in friends, gardens, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the oregon garden is lovely in january

  1. Lisa says:

    Oh my, how absolutely on you were — how fun to reread (and relive) our glorious 24+ hours all over again. Thank you, thank you, thank you my friend — I adore you!

    Like

Leave a comment