You people make me sick. Truly.


“Western officials stress that the sanctions and an earlier embargo against Syrian oil imports are intended to target the country’s government and business elite, rather than ordinary people. But the measures have fueled a succession of fiscal shocks that are being felt across the Syrian economy, so far without directly endangering Assad’s 12-year rule, analysts say. These include not only a jump in consumer prices but a sharp drop in the value of the Syrian pound. Wages have stayed stagnant.” – Washington Post 4/24/2012

This is what the U.S. and U.N. does. Do you know how long they pressed sanctions on Iraq to try to destroy the country before they finally invaded based on lies? And who suffers the most? The ordinary citizen, of course. The message is simple. If you, as a people, refuse to overthrow your government, we will choke the life out of you. We will destroy your country by destroying your economy. And to the leaders we say, if your people do not want you overthrown, we will crush their lives for supporting you, until finally, they turn against you as the only means of fighting off starvation.

In a closed briefing Tuesday, Annan told the Security Council that the situation in Syria was “entirely contrary to the will of the international community,” – L.A. Times 4/25/2012

Oh really, Mr. Annan, the will of the international community. What about the will of the Syria people? How dare you shove your arrogant world vision down our throats! Will you stop before we’re all choking on it? You people make me sick!

 

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in enough already, politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

