PLEASE READ THIS POST!!!


Everyone who’s checked out my posts about Syria knows how important this issue is to me, and most of you know that the safety of my family is at stake. I’m reposting this from “Friends of Syria” blog, which I encourage you to subscribe to for the most current, credible information about what’s going on in Syria. PLEASE READ THIS POST!!! This is important stuff people. You may have read my posts in the past and doubted my sources, but this post quotes a Human Rights Watch report and a memo from the Brookings Institute, an ultra-conservative think tank, whose position papers are often used to justify the toppling of foreign powers. If you weren’t outraged about U.S. policies and actions in Syria before now, you will be after reading this post.

Friends of Syria

UN’s silence over Syrian opposition terrorism lays bare “international law’s” illegitimacy

by Tony Cartalucci

Since March 2011, reports of arsonists and gunmen amongst Syria’s opposition have been included in reports regarding the unrest in Syria, albeit buried under sensational headlines of the Syrian government’s “brutality.” More recently, Human Rights Watch (HRW) has conceded that indeed the Syrian opposition “Free Syrian Army” is conducting widespread, systematic abuses including the kidnapping, torture, and murder of both security forces and civilians.

The HRW report titled, “Syria: Armed Opposition Groups Committing Abuses,” is broken into three parts; kidnapping, torture, and executions. And while the report attempts to focus mainly on atrocities carried out against security forces and government supporters, the mention of civilian victims is made as well. The report states:

“Abuses include kidnapping, detention, and torture of security force members, government supporters, and people identified as members of pro-government militias, called shabeeha. Human…

View original post 1,175 more words

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in enough already, politics, stuff I like/stuff I don't like, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

