I haven’t been blogging lately. Too busy living. But I couldn’t pass up this reblog. This is an interview of a Russian journalist living in Syria, offering her opinion of media coverage and the current situation in Syria. Please take the time to read it. Also, check out this website, friendsofsyria.wordpress.com, they do an excellent job of presenting what I would call the common Syrian perspective on what’s happening in Syria.

Friends of Syria

by Natalia Mihailova

Independent journalist Anhar Kochneva has been living and working in Syria for more than ten years. She says that the situation in Syria is not at all similar to how it has been presented in the mass media.

She is Russian, speaks fluent Arabic and her friends and neighbors are ordinary Syrians. She walks along the same streets of Damascus and goes shopping in the same stores as any other resident of the Syrian capital. We recently spoke with her to ask about some of the causes for the long-term disorder in Syria.

So-called demonstrations

Were there any prerequisites for the Syrian crisis?

First of all, there were no signs of any crisis a year ago. Nothing extraordinary happened in March 2011. The whole thing started out as a case of criminal activity. I always got furious when journalists wrote that ‘mass riots and demonstrations had been…

View original post 1,253 more words

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

