My thanks, an update and a request.


First, let me say thank you to all who have read and shared this post and have sent prayers for my family. I will give you what little information I have now and keep you updated as I learn more.

I sent a message on Facebook to a family friend, living in my village, having been unable to get a hold of my brother, sister, nieces or nephews. My friend said, “Helllllo sweet . Yes the army in the village and every thing under control Some people left on their own not requested or evacuated . Hope this is over soon .”

And as for the request, my friend Amy, very graciously, asked if there was anything she could do to help. The following is my reply:

Thank you Amy! Other than prayer, you can call or write the president and your congressional representatives. If we could stop the flow of money and weapons to the opposition, the war would end, in fact, never would have happened. We can tell them not to spend one more dime of our tax dollars funding, arming or in any way supporting the opposition and we can stop opposing the Syrian government. We can also tell them to contact our allies, Saudi Arabia, Qatar and Turkey and tell them to stop interfering. Also, please share my posts and blogs on Facebook and any other social media at your disposal. Talk to everyone you know and tell them what’s really happening in Syria. Let everyone know that you have a Syrian friend with family there who has first hand information about events in the country. Let people know that if they have questions about what they hear in the media, I am more than happy to answer them. Phone calls and emails to congressional representatives and the White House stopped the government’s plan to bomb Syria in August. And now there is ample proof that our pretext – President Al Assad “gassed his own people,” is a total lie. If enough people called and wrote again, we could stop our money from being used to kill innocent Syrians. If you are inclined to donate to charity, please donate to IOCC, International Orthodox Christian Charities. In addition to having an amazingly high ratio of dollars collected to dollars spent directly on aid, they also distribute the aid in local communities directly to Syrian people based on need. Unfortunatately, there are foreign aid groups including NGOs like Red Cross/Red Crescent and other medical and food aid organizations that have unwittingly supported the opposition and foreign fighters.

One more thing for everyone if I may, please refer people to my blog. I reference other news sources from Syria there. If the American people understood exactly what this war is all about and what the people we are arming are doing over there, I really believe they wouldn’t stand for it. Our government is well aware of the truth, but they will continue on this course unless we demand that they stop. It’s our money. We have the right to demand it be spent doing good for the American people, not harm to the Syrian people. Thank you all for your support and prayers and actions!

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

