News from the Village – Wednesday, January 29, 2014


I recieved a message from my niece in Damascus yesterday. She said, “Amto, (aunt), there is no terrorists in Amar. I called Aunt Nadia a few minutes ago and she told me that only Army enter the village … and they are all saved.” (I think she meant “safe.”)

Today, I spoke with my nephew, who is still in the village with his brothers. He said that people left with their children so they wouldn’t be around for the fighting. He said the village is safe because the army is there. He said the army is going to engage the terrorists living in the castle and hopefully, wipe them out. He thinks it will take maybe ten days and then the fighting will be over.

I didn’t get anything done today really. I made lunch for Maddy and walked her to the bus for school. When I came home, I laid down again. I slept until almost noon. God I was tired. Then I tried to reach my niece in Damscus, no answer. Then I spoke to my nephew. Then I called my niece in Detroit. It’s her mother, my sister, who is still in the village. We talked for over an hour. 

I talked to my son and my aunt and read Barack Obama’s remarks about Syria in his State of the Union address.  More on that later…

I did manage to put away some clean dishes and wash some dirty ones. In half an hour, I have a yoga class.  Thank God!

I made plans earlier this week to go out and enjoy this evening with my friend, Kurumi. She asked me if I still wanted to go and I said yes. If anyone in Portland is reading this, come to Wanderlust Circus tonight at Dante’s and have some fun!

Life goes on, here and there. I’ll try to forget my troubles and enjoy the evening. 

Please keep praying. My family always says, “don’t worry, everything is fine.” Of course, they don’t want me to worry. Of course, I worry. Thank you for your prayers and for paying attention to people I love, halfway around the world.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

