Massive rallies in Damascus: despite years of foreign aggression and terrorism, Syrian people support Syria Army in the face of the armed Takfiri groups


Some people call me a propagandist or apologist for the Syrian government or President Al Assad. Of course, everyone is entitled to their opinion. I just wonder though, if maybe some people’s opinions should carry more weight than others.
The U.S. government insists that this war is a popular uprising of the Syrian people against an oppressive dictatorship. Other people might assert that regardless of what the Syrian people as a majority actually want, the rest of the world should do what they deem best, for example, invade Syria with a UN force and insist on the destruction of the Syrian government.
As a Syrian with family living in the very midst of the battle, I tend to believe that my opinion, as well as my understanding of the situation, should carry more weight. And I can only say what I have said from the beginning: much of what is said about life in Syria under the existing government is a complete fabrication. From the very earliest protests, Syrian police were killed during supposedly peaceful protests. Charges of rape, massacre, chemical weapons attacks and torture have never been substantiated and rather, have been refuted by the facts. And from the beginning, and straight on through to today, a majority of the Syrian people continues to support the Syrian government, and the president, Bashar Al Assad.
Of course, ultimately, I would argue against all those who stand outside of this conflict, and insist that it is the Syrian people themselves, who should have the final say. Yet despite their efforts to speak loud and clear, their voices are being crowded out by those who would impose their vision of Syria upon the Syrian people.
And so today, I ask you to listen to their voices and consider that perhaps, their opinion is what should matter most.

the real Syrian Free Press

1898184_612280838845571_1799349021_n

DAMASCUS: residents of Ghezlanieh and Mazzeh neighborhood took to the streets on Friday in a rally in support of Syria’s army in the face of the armed terrorist groups.

The participants expressed full support to Syria’s official delegation taking part in Geneva 2 conference and adherence to the national stances spelled out at the first round of the conference.

Thousands of citizens carried posters of president Bashar al-Assad and waved Syrian flags, chanting slogans hailing the army and its leader and stressing their adherence to national unity.

Mazzeh

Ghezlanieh

The participants highlighted that no side can intervene in Syria’s internal affairs, adding that the Syrians managed to confront the takfiri mentality thanks to their awareness and commitment to the unity of the country and the coexistence among its people.

They said that this activity proves to the whole world that the Syrians are defending their country and its national unity…

View original post 49 more words

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

