Oh, and another thing. Dictatorship vs Democracy.


Image

The US says the elections in Syria don’t count because some people were not able to vote. They forget to mention that the people unable to vote were either living in a country like the United States, which shut down Syrian embassies and wouldn’t allow Syrian election officials to tally votes, or they were living in “rebel” controlled territory, where the “rebels” wouldn’t allow them to vote, and where they would be killed for voting for Bashar Al Assad. Nonetheless, if EVERY SINGLE eligible voter in these situations had been able to vote, and had they voted against Bashar Al Assad (in fact, most of them would have voted for him), President Al Assad still would have won by a larger percentage of the vote than Barack Obama did in his re-election.

Please, let’s stop trying to justify arming the anti-government fighters in Syria with the bullshit lie that we’re trying to help them free themselves from an oppressive dictator. Clearly, the Syrian people disagree with us wholeheartedly. 

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, and another thing. Dictatorship vs Democracy.

    • Leila says:

      Thank you for reblogging. I’m glad you did and now I can follow you as well. Where did you live in Syria? I look forward to reading more about Iraq.
      أهلا و سهلا.

Leave a Reply

