US backed Sunni militants cross from Syria and into Iraq, causing US backed Iraqi army troops to flee.


I’ve been enjoying not posting about Syria constantly, but this certainly bears posting. Sunni militants crossed the border from Syria into Iraq and overran and took control of Mosul, Iraq’s second largest city. Iraq’s army troops shed their clothes and ran away with civilians. I would like to point out (before the US government cites this as a reason to take further military action in Syria), that these Sunni militants (the US government calls them “rebels” in Syria, but “militants” in Iraq) are US backed, trained and armed. So now, US backed Sunni militants are overrunning the country we destroyed to get rid of Sunni leader, Saddam Hussein. So can we all stop pretending that it isn’t actually the US GOVERNMENT (and OUR money) causing all these problems in the Middle East?

20140611-104444-38684903.jpg

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a yoga and fitness instructor and personal trainer. And I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. My life is defined by my family, and right now, that means chronic worry and fear. Thank God for my faith and the support of my family and friends. I started this blog to talk about all sorts of things, but now I focus on Syria. Until this war is over, I, like all Syrians with a love for their country and their families, am a prisoner of this war, waiting to see what will be left after the dust settles. I pray for the safety of my family and for my country to survive and repair itself in the future. God willing.
This entry was posted in politics, Syria and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

