A short update on my family and village.


I haven’t posted here in awhile. I’ve been so upset about the US bombing Northern Syria, which I just see as their entry point into the country to bring down the Syrian government, their only real goal since they started and funded this war in 2011. I’ve been angry and depressed and have been avoiding US news about the airstrikes.

However, I just spoke with my sister and thought I’d give you news from my village. Everyone in my family is fine. My sister’s youngest son has started his first year at a new college in Homs. Her eldest has two boys already and this year had a daughter. My nephew posted some pictures on Facebook, so I checked them out when we were talking. She is beautiful! I didn’t get a hold of my brother today, the line was bad and we couldn’t talk, but my sister told me his daughter had her baby. She has another son now, so that’s two boys and a girl for her as well. She lives in a village about 45 minutes away, and my sister-in-law is with her and her family there. My sister says there is nothing going on in or around the village. No fighting that is. People can freely and safely travel in the area during the day, although there is a lot of crime now, so people don’t travel the roads at night. Everything is very expensive and the money continues to devalue. Before the war, the exchange rate held steady for many years, at 50 lire to 1 dollar US. During the war, that increased to 120-140 lire to a dollar. It has gone up again to 200 lire to a dollar. This last increase came when the US government started bombing northern Syria. People are tired of the war and the difficulties of life there, but my family is doing well and they all still believe that the Syrian government and army will win the war and they will be able to rebuild their lives. This is not propaganda. This is what my family believes. Of course I worry because I know the US government doesn’t like to take no for an answer, but I pray that somehow, the US government will stop this horrible plan to destory Syria and place radical Muslims in power and my family will be able to rebuild their lives and I will be able to take my children there again and stay for the summer and enjoy the peace and safety that I knew before.

About Leila

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in family, politics, Syria and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

