Gotta get going. A fashion post. (I love Fall!)


“Gotta get going. Where we going? What’re we gonna do?” That’s an old song my mom used to sing to us at the beginning of every road trip. But where are WE going? Well, we’ve been going nowhere fast lately, as a result of my inability to finish and publish a blog post these days. I want to write about my wardrobe and some recent changes I made, but I keep having trouble narrowing it all down to a consumable post. Here’s a quickie, so I can at least put something up on the board!

I wore this outfit the other day, and it felt like the first day of Fall to me. I know “fall” shouldn’t be capitalized, but as far as fashion goes, I feel like Fall is a superstar, so, you know…

Here’s the outfit:

fullsizeoutput_f7

Here’s why I love this outfit:

  1. I think it’s so cute and I felt really put together.
  2. Everything I was wearing was super comfy.
  3. I had just finished reorganizing my closet and was excited to quickly and easily put this look together.

What I’m wearing

T-shirt from Target’s Merona line. I love their t-shirt selections. They have several different styles, they’re inexpensive, and so far, they’ve lasted two years. This t-shirt is very soft and comfortable, launders well, and has a great drape. Also, I love the vaguely French-girl vibe.

My friend Luciana

My dear friend, Luciana. (photo credit: Jane Keating)

Zip-up cardigan from Luciana Proano. Luciana is not a fashion designer. She’s one of my closest friends. She’s also a yoga teacher, dancer, musician, and glass-maker (among many other things). See: InkaJam. Basically, she’s a Renaissance woman. This ribbed, rust-colored cardigan was her father’s. I never met him, but from all accounts, he was an amazing man. This is one of my favorite pieces, for obvious reasons.

Cabi flare-leg jeans. This is my favorite pair of jeans, hands down. Again, super comfy (my number one criteria for anything), great fitting and great looking. Cabi is what I consider to be an expensive brand. I paid over $100 for these jeans (I hope my husband doesn’t see this post). I bought them at my friend, Paige’s, Cabi party. Full disclosure: I had a little tiff with Vini right before the party, so I pretty much went crazy and bought four items for over $200! I’ve never before, or since, spent that much money on clothes. But, don’t cha know, they ended up being some of the best clothes I own. I have since discovered ThredUp, and now I get some great deals on Cabi clothes.

fullsizeoutput_fbThe tennie-runners are Clark’s. Another favorite of mine! They’re all so comfortable! I’m not loving how droopy the shoelaces look in this picture, but that’s just me being picky. These shoes are grey and black with some mesh material. They were a total impulse purchase, but one I’m glad I made. They’re a core part of my wardrobe now. I bought them the same place I buy ALL my shoes these days – DSW. How did I survive before DSW? They’re really the best, best, best! I’m only recently paying any attention at all to my clothing, but I’ve loved shoes for as long as I can remember. Shoes are ART!

fullsizeoutput_f9

Cute scarf, loose belt!

Accessories. Yes, I wear accessories these days. They just take the whole thing up a notch. Don’t you think? The scarf is a vintage scarf that I bought for three dollars a couple of years ago at a secondhand store. If you, like me, suffer sticker shock in resale stores these days, aim for the scarf section. They’re usually a steal. This one is a graphic print in classic fall colors.

The belt is a plain, black leather belt from Fred Meyer. Yes, Freddie’s. They have a pretty great selection of clothes and accessories these days. If you haven’t checked it out in a while, I think you should.

One more thing. Leather. Let me tell you, I’m a fan of buying things on the cheap whenever possible. But belts that aren’t made of genuine leather are a complete waste of money, in my opinion. They just don’t last. Only other comment I have to make about this belt is: Woot! Woot! It’s too loose! I need to punch another hole in it to make it fit better. Gotta love that!

What do you think? Am I figuring it out? I’ve hit the ripe, old age of forty-eight, and finally threw off my daily yoga pant/tank top wardrobe. This whole fashion thing is new to me. What do you love about fall fashion this year? Any great finds you’d care to share? (I like to remind people – there’s a place to comment at the very bottom of this page. And you don’t need to provide ANY personal information AT ALL! Thanks for stopping by).

 

About LeilaPiazza

I am a wife and mother. I am an Orthodox Christian. I am a Syrian American with family living in Syria. I am a also a yoga teacher and freelance writer. I recently described myself in a job pitch as "a person who's lived in Portland, Oregon for over 20 years with a passion for writing and a passion for all things Portland. I'm a foodie, knitter, wine and beer lover, bee-keeper (yep, I said it), mead and fruit-liqueur maker, organic gardener, home-canner, hiker, biker, runner, and occasional skinny-dipper. I’ve camped all over the state, I sail a sailboat that’s moored on the Columbia (o.k., I'm the first mate), and I spend a large percentage of my time at our beach house in Seaside." That about sums it up.
This entry was posted in Fashion, stuff I like/stuff I don't like and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Gotta get going. A fashion post. (I love Fall!)

  1. Pingback: Leopard print – it’s my thing. | O.K. look, here's the deal.

  2. Pingback: How I Used Capsule Wardrobes to Organize My Closet | O.K. look, here's the deal.

  3. You look great beautiful! If you need any advice on your style then you know where I am!
    Take care
    The Girl! x
    http://www.girlbehindthelook.com

    Like

  4. I love this look. You look amazing. The scarf added a nice twist to the overall look.

    Like

  5. Jane says:

    You look so ready for an adventure & gorgeous as usual. I loved your thoughtful attention to detail to each Item. I loved your tribute to Luciana’s Dad (as I wear my Pendleton Dad bathrobe). It’s important that we have our touchstones around us or on us!
    -Adventure Sister

    Like

    • LeilaPiazza says:

      Thank you Jane! I really am enjoying being “fashionable” these days. I love those personal items the most. They’re so special. It’s like being wrapped in love. Even though I didn’t know Luciana’s father, that sweater is steeped in her love of him and all the stories she’s told me. By the way, that’s a great photo of Luciana! I’d love to have lunch with you and interview you for my “women I admire” series!

      Like

  6. lucianaproano says:

    You look great!
    Thanks for posting a picture of my costume design for my production of Gingerbread Boy. The advantage of designing surreal costumes for the stage is that I don’t have to worry about fashion!
    That comes in handy because being the space cadete that I am I have no clue as to what is trending.
    I always love how you dress because it’s a deep and sincere self expression and you always look great!

    Like

    • Leila says:

      Thanks Luciana! I think it’s funny I wrote you’re not a fashion designer, but of course, you are a costume designer! When I start my interview series, “Women I Admire,” I can make a list of all the many hats you wear.

      And thank you for the compliment! Of course, for years, the deep and sincere self expression of mine was through the yoga pants and tank tops I wore every day (for which I also have you to thank!)

      Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    You look awesome! XO

    Like

Leave a comment